Contact UsTwo Pershing Square 2300 Main Street, Suite 170 Kansas City MO 64108
Two Pershing Square
2300 Main Street, Suite 170
Kansas City, MO 64108
When you are involved in a motor vehicle accident where the other driver is negligent, you have the right to pursue financial compensation from that driver. What happens when, instead of stopping, the other vehicle takes off and leaves the scene of the accident? You become the victim of a hit-and-run driver.
Maybe you captured some details about the other driver and car, maybe you did not. How do you hold the at-fault driver responsible for your injuries when he or she cannot be found?
What do you do in the case of a hit-and-run accident?
In a hit-and-run accident, the driver has failed to stop so you do not have their information. Law enforcement officers will use what they are able to glean from the scene of the accident – witness statements, security camera footage, broken car parts left at the scene – to find a hit-and-run driver. If the driver is apprehended, you can file a personal injury claim against that person to be compensated for your medical bills, lost wages, etc.
In the State of Missouri, the law requires that any individual involved in an accident causing personal injury, death or significant property damage must stop and provide pertinent information such as a driver’s license, vehicle registration and contact information.
However, not all hit-and-run drivers are found. This means you will need to work with your own insurance company to pursue compensation through an Uninsured Motorist claim.
In Missouri, you are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 uninsured motorist (UM) coverage on your vehicle. Coverage minimums are set at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident; however, you can purchase higher amounts. This coverage protects you if someone hits you who is not insured or if you are involved in a hit-and-run accident.
Do not assume your insurance company will automatically offer you this compensation. Should they dispute your claim, an experienced personal injury lawyer can advocate for you and navigate the process to get you the compensation you deserve.
Questions? Need a personal injury attorney? Call us at (877) 284-6600.
Have you been seriously injured in a hit-and-run accident? Call Nash & Franciskato at (877) 284-6600. We have a successful track record helping accident victims collect the compensation they deserve. One of our experienced staff will speak with you personally and will provide you with a free, no-obligation review of your case.
Would you like to receive news and blog updates on a regular basis? Sign up to receive our email newsletter. Your email address will only be used to send you our newsletter and respond to inquiries.
Past results afford no guarantee of future results and each case is different and is judged on its own merits. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.
Editor’s Note: This post was originally published May 12, 2021. It was reviewed on October 31, 2023 and updated for content and accuracy.